> It's just a scam to harvest email addresses.
>
> You have to enter all your details before you can download then they tell
> you that no more slots are available.
>
> Try using fake details first if you don't believe me.
>> It's just a scam to harvest email addresses.
>>
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
>
> Poor Execution? Yes.
They force you register to register for the download then give you nothing.
This is MS not some lone open source developer. They could very easily have
inserted the "Sorry, we don't want to give out any more copies" before the
registration process.
My opinion (and it's only my opinion) is that someone decided to do it that
way deliberately.
xTenn - 29 Mar 2007 21:53 GMT
> My opinion (and it's only my opinion) is that someone decided to do it that
> way deliberately.
Well, I do agree with you as far it being a conscious decision.
I am not sure if that makes it a scam. However, if your definition of a
scam in this case is something like "forethought of actions leading to
the desired outcome of collected interested email accounts" (heavy
paraphrasing assumed), I would have to be honest and say that it fits
the statement. :)
Barbara - 29 Mar 2007 22:55 GMT
> > My opinion (and it's only my opinion) is that someone decided to do it that
> > way deliberately.
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
> paraphrasing assumed), I would have to be honest and say that it fits
> the statement. :)
Hi Guys
More ellobrate details could be found at
http://askwiki.blogspot.com/2007/03/new-revolutionary-browsing-for-windows.html
Good Day
Pegleg - 30 Mar 2007 02:42 GMT
>They force you register to register for the download then give you nothing.
>
>This is MS not some lone open source developer. They could very easily have
>inserted the "Sorry, we don't want to give out any more copies" before the
>registration process.
First off, they didn't force you to register! You clicked on the button
by choice. Once you were aware of the requirements to fill in specific
information you had a choice to exit the page.
Take a freekin strain dude!
Werner "Menneisyys" Ruotsalainen [MVP - Windows - Mobile Devices] - 30 Mar 2007 11:15 GMT
I've privately talked to the Deepfish folks on the matter (when asking for
an ID for myself so that I can publish some info on the browser in my
forthcoming Windows Mobile Web Browsing Bible, which will REALLY SOON be
published and will be really cool.)
They DO use the list to notify people that want - for example, last night
they have sent out some 1000 (!) invites. Of course, the demand is much
higher, while the servers they use are heavily overloaded.
That is, be patient - in some days, you may receive an invite too.

Signature
Werner "Menneisyys" Ruotsalainen - Microsoft MVP - Windows - Mobile Devices
Please see the Pocket PC Mag Expert Blog (including mine) at
http://www.pocketpcmag.com/blogs/ - you will definitely like it.
>>> It's just a scam to harvest email addresses.
>>>
[quoted text clipped - 16 lines]
> My opinion (and it's only my opinion) is that someone decided to do it
> that way deliberately.
Schrodinger's cat - 30 Mar 2007 20:53 GMT
> I've privately talked to the Deepfish folks on the matter (when asking for
> an ID for myself so that I can publish some info on the browser in my
[quoted text clipped - 6 lines]
>
> That is, be patient - in some days, you may receive an invite too.
I have no problem with a delay.
I do not expect them to harvest my email address and THEN say I can't have
the download.
I expect them to say no downloads are available at this time and offer the
option to register.
And yes, the guides you publish are normally very good...
Regards
Martin